Cagayan de Oro Trivia Part 1

Posted by:

Many of today’s Kagay-anons do not really know the city’s history. Those who were born in the 1940s, 1960s, and 1970s hold a lot of special memories about the CDO that they grew up in. Clix recognizes the value that these memories hold, so we’ve decided to gather some interesting trivia about Cagayan de Oro. Some of these, you may already know. But since this is going to be a series, we’re sure you’ll discover a lot of things about CDO that you’ve never heard of before.

For starters, here are some historical facts about the City of Golden Friendship:

  • Cagayan de Oro was known as Cagayan de Misamis during the Spanish regime. At that time, it was the capital town of Segundo Distrito de Misamis.
  • We fight to protect our homes and our liberty!” was the battlecry of the citizens who signed the Club Popular Pact of Resistance. The pact was an cry for war against the American invaders.
  • The Mindanao Battalion was formed to fight against the American invaders. General Nicholas Capistrano led the group of revolutionaries. Their battle against the Americans is now known as the Siete de Abril or Battle of Cagayan.
  • The second Philippine-American War in Cagayan de Misamis was led by Capt. Vicente Roa. It is now known as the Battle of Agusan Hill.
  • On the other hand, The Battle of Makahambus Hill, is considered as the country’s first Filipino victory in the time of the Philippine-American War. The battle, which was led by Colonel Apolinar Velez upon the orders of General Capistrano, preceded Marinduque’s Battle of Pulang Lupa and Samar’s Balangiga Massacre.
  • The Battle of Cagayan, the Battle of Agusan Hill, and the Battle of Makahambus Hill are collectively known as the Three Battles in Cagayan de Oro.
  • The first Charter Day celebration in Cagayan de Oro was on June 15, 1950. The late Emmanuel Pelaez, former Philippine Vice President, was congressman at that time. He pushed for the declaration of the Municipality of Cagayan de Misamis to a chartered city. President Elpidio Quirino signed Republic Act 521 on that day.
  • The first university in Mindanao was Xavier University. Sources say the Jesuit university received its university status way before Ateneo de Manila got its own.
  • Maharlika Bridge is one of the many bridges in Cagayan de Oro. Its original name was Marcos Bridge. This was changed only after the EDSA Revolution, during the time of the late former President Corazon Aquino.

This is just the first part. We’ll have more for you in the coming weeks. In the meantime, love your city, Kagay-anons! Learn more about it by going around CDO. You’ll find a lot of historical tidbits, like buildings and establishments, which carry the city’s colorful and rich history.


Tags: Cagayan de Oro, CdeO, CDO, charter day, Emmanuel Pelaez, Xavier University